Vultr.com - Instant Cloud Server Deployment
GAMETRACKER FORUMS
Forum Home > General Help > Issue with claiming server
PREV 1 2 NEXT
wwzl4dPM
#1
Issue with claiming server
Aug 01, 2021 11:58 PM
Joined: Sep 20, 2020
Posts: 5
Hello, I recently purchased a game server. The server seems to be previously owned as it is named Justice 4 Nimmy by the previous owner. However, the server is unclaimed currently so I don't believe that is the issue. However, anytime I try to claim the server I get a pop up telling me that it is unable to verify the server name. I have renamed my server in the server.cfg file as GameTrackerClaimServer.

My game server is a Left4Dead 1 server. The IP Address is: 160.202.165.14:27035

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!
chimaera500PM
#2
Aug 02, 2021 4:27 AM
GAMETRACKER MODERATOR Joined: Jul 14, 2009
Posts: 3657
You have to stop and start the server for the name change to take effect.

__
I am a community user. I do not reply to private message requests for support.
Hint: I do not accept (or reply to) personal requests for re-ranking or unbanning.
You must use the forums please.

Links:
Forum Guidelines | Reporting abuse | Guides & FAQs | General Help
wwzl4dPM
#3
Aug 02, 2021 3:24 PM
Joined: Sep 20, 2020
Posts: 5
Thank you for your response.

Prior to posting here, I have stopped and restarted my server. Waited at least 10 minutes just to make sure the name change has taken effect. It has been 10+ hours now since the name change on my server. After reading your suggestion, I stopped and restarted the server once more. Then, I tried to claim the server again but gametracker is still giving me the same prompt: In order to claim ownership of your server you must temporarily rename it to contain the phrase GameTrackerClaimServer

In my server config file I have down:
hostname "GameTrackerClaimServer"

Also, I believe the name change is in effect because in my game server control panels I can see the new name and when I try to connect to my server via steam the name also shows up.

Is there any other suggestions? TIA
chimaera500PM
#4
Aug 03, 2021 10:53 AM
GAMETRACKER MODERATOR Joined: Jul 14, 2009
Posts: 3657
The query port is currently set to '27015'
Are you sure this is correct?

__
I am a community user. I do not reply to private message requests for support.
Hint: I do not accept (or reply to) personal requests for re-ranking or unbanning.
You must use the forums please.

Links:
Forum Guidelines | Reporting abuse | Guides & FAQs | General Help
wwzl4dPM
#5
Aug 04, 2021 1:53 AM
Joined: Sep 20, 2020
Posts: 5
I was not prompted to set a query port when I tried to add my server on Gametracker. These were the steps I took on Gametracker:

On the 'SERVERS' tab under the 'ADD A SERVER' option I input the following information:

Game Type: Left 4 Dead
IP or Doman Name: 160.202.165.14
Join Port: 27035

I clicked on 'ADD SERVER' and was given the following response: 'This server already exists in the gametracker database. We have added the server "Justice 4 Nimmy" to your favorites servers for your convenience.'

This is not and was never my server name.


Some additional information... My game server is rented through Streamline Servers. My query port is the same as my join port (27035).
Last edited by: wwzl4d Aug 04, 2021 2:49 AM
chimaera500PM
#6
Aug 04, 2021 3:53 AM
GAMETRACKER MODERATOR Joined: Jul 14, 2009
Posts: 3657
You have two options;
1. Take the server offline and wait until Gametracker reports it as 'Dead'
2. Use your firewall to block Gametracker scanners (See post: https://www.gametracker.com/forums/forum.php?site=1&thread=108247) and wait until Gametracker reports it as 'Dead'

When the server status is Dead the query port may be updated.


__
I am a community user. I do not reply to private message requests for support.
Hint: I do not accept (or reply to) personal requests for re-ranking or unbanning.
You must use the forums please.

Links:
Forum Guidelines | Reporting abuse | Guides & FAQs | General Help
chimaera500PM
#7
Aug 04, 2021 10:11 AM
GAMETRACKER MODERATOR Joined: Jul 14, 2009
Posts: 3657
It appears that you have taken your server offline for a number of hours. Is this the case?
Update: I have contacted an admin to see if he can make the chamge.


__
I am a community user. I do not reply to private message requests for support.
Hint: I do not accept (or reply to) personal requests for re-ranking or unbanning.
You must use the forums please.

Links:
Forum Guidelines | Reporting abuse | Guides & FAQs | General Help
Last edited by: chimaera500 Aug 04, 2021 10:56 AM
dr_botPM
#8
Aug 04, 2021 5:11 PM
GAMETRACKER ADMIN Joined: May 18, 2019
Posts: 45
Can you confirm the query port is 27035?

Currently we're not receiving any response from a server running on port 27035, is this server online?

Does the server query on HLSW when it's online?

wwzl4dPM
#9
Aug 04, 2021 6:39 PM
Joined: Sep 20, 2020
Posts: 5
Yes, I took my server offline per the suggestion of the GT mod. It is online now.

Also, I did confirm with my game server support staff and my query port is indeed 27035.

Sorry, I am not familiar with HLSW.
chimaera500PM
#10
Aug 04, 2021 7:43 PM
GAMETRACKER MODERATOR Joined: Jul 14, 2009
Posts: 3657
__
I am a community user. I do not reply to private message requests for support.
Hint: I do not accept (or reply to) personal requests for re-ranking or unbanning.
You must use the forums please.

Links:
Forum Guidelines | Reporting abuse | Guides & FAQs | General Help
PREV 1 2 NEXT