Vultr.com - Instant Cloud Server Deployment
Game Rank
Servers:
Teams:
Fans:
47874
Players:
16757
Forum Home > Garry's Mod Server Administration & Help > How to block gametracker from querying my servers IP:PORT
rapadant_networksPM
#1
How to block gametracker from querying my servers IP:PORT
Feb 11, 2018 2:35 AM
Joined: Jun 28, 2017
Posts: 13
I run multiple servers off of a VPS that I own and I'm looking to prevent it from showing up on gametracker. I feel that having my server here does nothing but paint a target on it for competitors to see and cause problems. majority of players don't use gametracker and simply look into the browser for a server so removing gametracker shouldn't hurt my server in the slightest. besides that users can easily visit my community site for information on connecting/player info/ map and so on rather then an external source. I feel that this would greatly improve my servers chances of uninturupted growth.

I have full access to my VPS so please if anybody can tell me how it would be greatly appreciated
-Rapadant Networks-
chimaera500PM
#2
Feb 11, 2018 2:56 AM
GAMETRACKER MODERATOR Joined: Jul 14, 2009
Posts: 2793
__
I am a community user. I do not reply to private message requests for support.
Hint: I do not accept (or reply to) personal requests for re-ranking or unbanning.
You must use the forums please.

Links:
Forum Guidelines | Reporting abuse | Guides & FAQs | General Help
rapadant_networksPM
#3
Feb 11, 2018 2:58 AM
Joined: Jun 28, 2017
Posts: 13
where would the best place be to block these specific IPs? should I put them in banned IPs or do I need to do something OS specific?
-Rapadant Networks-
chimaera500PM
#4
Feb 11, 2018 3:32 AM
GAMETRACKER MODERATOR Joined: Jul 14, 2009
Posts: 2793
Firewall.

You may also want to take ownership of the servers and delete them from Gametracker before blocking the IPs (you won't be able to take ownership once the IPs are blocked).

All in the Guides & FAQs section (link below).

We do not delete servers on request.

__
I am a community user. I do not reply to private message requests for support.
Hint: I do not accept (or reply to) personal requests for re-ranking or unbanning.
You must use the forums please.

Links:
Forum Guidelines | Reporting abuse | Guides & FAQs | General Help
rapadant_networksPM
#5
Feb 11, 2018 3:38 AM
Joined: Jun 28, 2017
Posts: 13
firewall isn't an option for me, as for the claim and delete, wouldn't it just show back up later and I have to do the process of forcing each servers name again just to claim and delete it again?

it would be rather easy to simply be able to block my IP on gametrackers end or something :/
-Rapadant Networks-
chimaera500PM
#6
Feb 11, 2018 3:43 AM
GAMETRACKER MODERATOR Joined: Jul 14, 2009
Posts: 2793
Blocking IPs is not a service we offer.

The security of your server is your responsibility.

We do not automatically add servers to Gametracker.
But we could not stop someone else from adding them again.

__
I am a community user. I do not reply to private message requests for support.
Hint: I do not accept (or reply to) personal requests for re-ranking or unbanning.
You must use the forums please.

Links:
Forum Guidelines | Reporting abuse | Guides & FAQs | General Help
rapadant_networksPM
#7
Feb 11, 2018 3:48 AM
Joined: Jun 28, 2017
Posts: 13
well how long would it take for an unclaimed server thats been offline to be removed for extended downtime? because I'd rather avoid somebody ending up painting a target on my servers back with gametracker
-Rapadant Networks-
chimaera500PM
#8
Feb 11, 2018 4:07 AM
GAMETRACKER MODERATOR Joined: Jul 14, 2009
Posts: 2793
No idea.
It's automated and dependent on a number of factors.
Unclaimed is not a factor.
Could be days, could be weeks.

__
I am a community user. I do not reply to private message requests for support.
Hint: I do not accept (or reply to) personal requests for re-ranking or unbanning.
You must use the forums please.

Links:
Forum Guidelines | Reporting abuse | Guides & FAQs | General Help
rapadant_networksPM
#9
Feb 11, 2018 4:10 AM
Joined: Jun 28, 2017
Posts: 13
good thing I baught 2 extra IPs to switch from till I can find a reliable permanent solution. thank you for the IP list and help
-Rapadant Networks-